top of page

The Church did not understand Jesus' assignment.




“Once upon a time I thought I was done with Christianity. But the reality was I was just done with the institutional, corporatized, gentrified, politicized, culturally exclusive version of it.” Lecrae.

January 7, 2022 // 5:08 pm


If you have grown up in the church or know people who have, I am sure you have heard of the term “church hurt.” It looks different for each individual, and how they have responded to that trauma. Some leave the church and Christianity completely, because Christians tend to blame this “church hurt” on God himself instead of the people within the church. These people within the church are humans who make mistakes like the rest of us. When people leave Christianity because of this hurt, I am heartbroken for it, but nevertheless understand.


It is always really hard when you walk into a building and have these expectations that someone in authority of the church is supposed to lead you in love and compassion like Jesus would, instead of making you feel like church is only a place for the people who have it all together. Shame, guilt, and unworthiness is usually what comes out of church hurt, at least for me personally. I know it is easier said than done, but we as Christians have to believe this is the last thing Jesus wants us to feel as we walk out of a church building, yet too often Christians feel this way. I have been wanting to make this post for a while now as I see many stories being posted on social media of ex-christians and Christians today sharing their own story, as well as my friends who share their story with me on how church hurt has affected their walk with the Lord.


Christians if you take anything from this, remember being kind and loving is crucial inside and outside the church. & to non-christians or ex-christians, I love and respect you, and I understand where you may not feel welcome within the church, because believe me, us Christians don’t always feel welcome either. Remember we all are human, we will all make mistakes on a daily basis, but as Jesus loved everyone and anyone no matter their mistakes, we as humans should as well, not only with our words, but with our actions.


In the last few weeks, my favorite song to scream at the top of my lungs has been Breathe Again by Joy Oladokun. When I first heard it, I loved it because it is a beautiful song, yet I didn’t really pay attention to the words. As I looked up the lyrics, I wondered if this was a Christian song. After researching it, I still am unsure if it is a Christian song, yet it resonates to me in that way. When I really read and dissect the lyrics, in my mind I imagine a Christian who is trying so hard to be better, yet when they find the courage to be vulnerable and open to their community, there is shame fired back at them. Therefore, they feel unworthy of “breathing again” or in a Christian term being “born again.” Yet, in the third verse she sings “when the world’s so heavy I can't stand, I close my eyes and start again,” this reminds me that no matter how heavy the “church hurt” may get, Jesus is always there to help you get up again.


Signed Ems



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page